Available Light Film Festival 2022: Feb 11 to 28

ALFF Creator Talk: Jeremy Podeswa + Station Eleven

Expired December 1, 2022 2:00 AM
Already unlocked? for access

Twenty years after a flu pandemic resulted in the collapse of civilization, a group of survivors who make their living as traveling performers encounter a violent cult led by a man whose past is unknowingly linked to a member of the troupe. Station Eleven is a limited series that debuted on HBO Max and Crave in December 2021 and stars an incredible international cast, including Mackenzie Davis, Himesh Patel, Gael Garcia Bernal, Lori Petty, David Cross and Caitlin FitzGerald. It was largely filmed in Ontario with Canadian crew, actors and with Canadian filmmakers Helen Shaver and Jeremy Podesewa directing 3 episodes each.

ALFF is excited to host Canadian filmmaker and one of the show’s executive producers, Jeremy Podeswa in conversation about this hit post-apocalyptic series based on Canadian novelist Emily St John Mandel’s 2014 novel. In conversation with Yukon composer and filmmaker, Daniel Janke.

Jeremy Podeswa is an award winning feature film and television director who has been nominated four times for the Best Director Emmy Award (for HBO’s “Boardwalk Empire” and “Game of Thrones” (twice), and for the Tom Hanks/ Steven Spielberg produced “The Pacific” (HBO, also nominated for the Directors Guild of America Award).

He has most recently Executive Produced and Directed the hit HBOMax limited series “Station Eleven” (based on the novel by Emily St. John Mandel) and has also recently directed on Apple’s “The Mosquito Coast” (starring Justin Theroux), on Showtime’s mini-series “The Loudest Voice” (starring Russell Crowe and Naomi Watts), and “On Becoming a God in Central Florida” (starring Kirsten Dunst).

He has directed for many of the most ground breaking cable television series and mini-series, including “The Handmaid’s Tale” for HULU; for HBO, “Game of Thrones”. “True Detective”, "The Newsroom”, “Here and Now”, “Boardwalk Empire”, “True Blood”, “Rome”, “Six Feet Under”, “Carnivale” and “The Pacific; for Showtime, “Homeland”, “Ray Donovan”, “The Borgias”, “The Tudors”, “Dexter”, “Weeds”, “Queer as Folk”, “The L Word”; for AMC “The Walking Dead”; for F/X “American Horror Story: Asylum and Coven”; and for TNT the mini-series “Into the West” (produced by Steven Spielberg and nominated for 16 Emmy Awards).

 Other credits include the television movie “After the Harvest”, starring Sam Shepard, winner of the Directors Guild of Canada Award for Best Direction. He has also written and directed three award winning feature films: Fugitive Pieces (Samuel Goldwyn Films, Opening Night, Toronto International Film Festival) starring Stephen Dillane and Rosamund Pike; The Five Senses (Fine Line Distribution, Directors’ Fortnight, Cannes Film Festival) starring Mary Louise Parker; and Eclipse (Berlin and Sundance Festivals).


Daniel Janke is a composer and filmmaker based in Yukon.

Film scores by Daniel Janke include Sovereign Soil [NFB/Jackleg Films, 2020]; Mountain of Sgaana [NFB, 2016, dir. Chris Auchter]; Subconscious Password which was short-listed for an Oscar award [NFB, 2014, dir. Chris Landreth]; Touch and The Susan Smith Tapes [2001, Rebel Films, dir. Jeremy Podeswa]. Daniel’s most recent film is Homecoming Song [NTF, 2020]. Other works include the television series Northern Town, [CBC Television, 2006]; Grubstake Remix [NTF, 2017]. His film How People Got Fire [NFB, 2009] has received numerous awards and was screened in over 60 countries.

His most recent recording release is Songs of Small Resistance. Other recordings include Muse with his group Winter Trio http://wintertrio.com/. Daniel is touring and recording this summer with French drummer Ariel Tessier, and Spanish bassist Basile Rahola. Daniel recorded with Bruce Cockburn on Breakfast In New Orleans [1999, Ryko]; Other recording releases include Celestial Blue with violinist Mark Fewer [2016, Centrediscs]; and Cinco Puntos Cardinales [2012, Centrediscs].

Music commissions include works for the NAC Touring Ensemble, Standing Wave, Toronto Symphony, Vancouver Symphony, NEM, and Continuum Ensemble.


  • Language