Enter the livestream and chat at any time
Stream began January 25, 2022 1:00 AM UTC
Already unlocked? for access

Give as a gift

$0After unlocking, the January 25th at 1:00 am UTC livestream can be viewed at any time. Need help?

Since Asia Society’s successful in-person screenings of Ascension in New York and Los Angeles in December 2021, the accolades for director Jessica Kingdon’s documentary continue to grow. The critically-acclaimed film about China’s class divide is now shortlisted as one of 15 films in the Documentary Feature category for the 94th Academy Awards.


With its growing popularity in the United States, how is the film being received in Asia? Following a special weekend-long virtual screening available to our global network get a fresh perspective on the film with a live post-screening Q&A, hosted with the Asia Society Hong Kong Center, that explores the film’s reception in Asia, new insider insights, and more. Asia Society Hong Kong Center Executive Director S. Alice Mong moderates the conversation with director Jessica Kingdon and producers Maggie Li and Kira Simon-Kennedy


Tune in Monday, January 24, 2022 at 5 p.m. Los Angeles time / 8 p.m. New York Time / Tuesday, January 25 at 9 a.m. Hong Kong Time for a conversation on Ascension.


Haven't seen the film? Beginning January 21 at 3 p.m. Los Angeles time / 5 p.m. New York time / January 22 at 6 a.m. Hong Kong time, Ascension will be available to stream via Eventive for 72 hours, with a 24-hour viewing window once the screening has started. Register for the screening.


This program is made possible by MTV Documentary Films.


This program is presented by Asia Society Museum, Asia Society Hong Kong Center, and Asia Society Southern California as part of a series titled Asia Society at the Movies.