Expired January 26, 2022 4:45 AM
Already unlocked? for access
1 film in package
This film is eligible for the 2023 Miami Jewish Film Festival Audience Award! Watch the film and then cast your vote here.
Protected ContentThis content can only be viewed in authorized regions: United States of America.

We would appreciate your support if you would like to donate to our efforts and help cover our streaming costs. Please consider donating when "Unlocking" the film or by clicking here.

Endphase tells the story of one of the last WWII massacres that had been kept secret for nearly 75 years. On the night of May 2, 1945, 228 Jewish women, children, and old men were murdered in Hofamt Priel, a small village in Austria. The perpetrators were never brought to justice. In search of an explanation, filmmaker Hans Hochstöger, who grew up in a neighboring town, speaks with the last local eyewitnesses and ultimately comes to find Yakov Schwarz, the last survivor who witnessed the tragedy. Director Hans Hochstöger shared this statement expressing the urgency and importance surrounding his film: "Endphase is one of the last films made with contemporary witnesses about the crimes of the Nazi regime. Many of our protagonists died during the filming. I hope that my film will make a small contribution to not forgetting these crimes and to keep the memory of the victims alive even after the death of the last eyewitnesses."

Accompanying the film premiere is a discussion with director Hans Hochstöger, screenwriter Tobias Hochstöger, and moderator Danny Reed. To view the conversation please click here.


The 2022 Miami Jewish Film Festival virtual program is made possible with the generous support of Benjamin Nahum and Tamar Roodner.

  • Year
  • Runtime
    86 minutes
  • Language
    German, English, Hebrew
  • Country
  • Premiere
    North American Premiere
  • Director
    Hans Hochstöger
  • Screenwriter
    Hans Hochstöger, Tobias Hochstöger
  • Cast
    Zev Vilmos Klein, Ofer Nadaz, Maria Nutz, Barbara Weber
  • Cinematographer
    Richard Bayerl
  • Editor
    Christin Veith
  • Music
    Victor Gangl