Halifax Independent Filmmakers Festival 2020

Atlantic Auteurs

Expired November 15, 2020 11:00 PM
Already unlocked? for access

This year’s Atlantic Auteurs program delivers an eclectic variety of short films, covering a wide spectrum of genres and technical approaches. The line-up consists of 11 brand new films from both newly discovered voices and some of HIFF’s most beloved alumni. We are honoured to be screening analogue animation patriarch James MacSwain’s latest film Bedtime, featuring cut- out animation of children in the 1950s paired with Jim's signature charming voice-over. Prince Edward Island’s Millefiore Clarkes brings us Solastalgia, a lyrical meditation on climate anxiety that poetically blends documentary and fiction. In Anthology for Fruits and Vegetables, Dawn George uses a meticulous eco-processing system to develop images of these edibles using their own “tea”, creating a deliciously rich and textured 16mm visual explosion. See these short films and more in this truly dynamic showcase of Atlantic talent. —Heather Young

When the panic over global crises threatens to engulf her, Ava embarks on a vision quest to

put things in perspective.

Solastalgia is a film that lies somewhere on the boarder of drama and documentary.

Essentially it is an "inner landscape documentary"—a lyrical expression of the director's internal

world. It utilizes non-traditional stock and archival sources for some of its imagery, set to the

formidable poetic verse of Tanya Davis (former poet laureate of Halifax), and music by Russell

Louder and Philip Glass. Solastalgia places the human experience within the vast timeline

of the earth, poetically evoking the idea that life has meaning with or without us.

  • Year
  • Runtime
    13 minutes
  • Language
  • Country
  • Director
    Millefiore Clarkes
  • Screenwriter
    Millefiore Clarkes & Tanya Davis
  • Cast
    Rebecca Parent, Kaelyn Wiseman, Zachary Wiseman, Bretton Bannister, Matt Rainnie, Emma Fugate, Tanya Davis
  • Cinematographer
    Ray Lavers
  • Editor
    Millefiore Clarkes
  • Production Design
    Kelly Caseley
  • Composer
    Devon Ross
  • Sound Design
    Simon White