17th Annual International Ocean Film Festival

Coastal Culture Program - 6 films

Expired August 17, 2020 6:45 AM
Already unlocked? for access
This virtual screening is eligible for our Global Audience Choice Award! Unlock now to cast your vote.

Coastal Culture Program (TRT: 89 min)

  1. Tahiry Honko - Blue Ventures, United Kingdom, 6 min
  2. A Better Life - Blue Habits Baja - Ben Hamilton, USA, 7 min
  3. OUR ATOLL SPEAKS, Ko Talatala Mai Tō Mātou Wenua - Gemma Cubero del Barrio, USA, 14
  4. Last Cast - Ashley Siana, USA, 13
  5. Kokoly - Blue Ventures, United Kingdom, 15
  6. Made in Paradise - Yang Yang, USA, 34 min

OUR ATOLL SPEAKS (Ko Talatala Mai Tō Mātou Wenua), Gemma Cubero del Barrio, 14 min, USA

IOFF Coastal Culture Award Winner - United States Premiere

Our Atoll Speaks is a short meditation on the environmental knowledge of the people of Pukapuka, an atoll in the Northern Group of the Cook Islands. Developed from interviews with Pukapukans from 2015-17, it interweaves stunning images of the translucent seas, frigate birds, spear fishing and taro patches. Indigenous climate knowledge and conservation practices developed over thousands of years teach us that when we know and connect with our environment, we will know how to conserve and adapt to it.

Tune into the live-stream Q&A with Gemma Cubero del Barrio, Amelia Borofsky, Johnny Frisbie and Pio Ravarua on Thursday August 6 at 6:00 PM PST. Click here to learn more.

  • Year
  • Runtime
    14 minutes
  • Country
    United States
  • Premiere
    United States
  • Note
    Major funding provided by the UNDP GEF Small Grants Programme, hosted by Cook Islands Red Cross Society
  • Director
    Gemma Cubero del Barrio
  • Screenwriter
    Gemma Cubero del Barrio, Amelia Rachel Hokuleʻa Borofsky, Florence Ngatokorua “Johnny” Tiane Frisbie
  • Producer
    Gemma Cubero del Barrio, Amelia Rachel Hokuleʻa Borofsky. Pio Ravarua/ Pukapuka People's Fund
  • Cast
    Florence Ngatokorua, “Johnny” Tiane Frisbie (voiceover),People of Pukapuka/Nassau
  • Cinematographer
    Vicente Franco, Kole Tinga, Gemma Cubero del Barrio, Gabriela Faaiuaso,
  • Editor
    Kyung Lee
  • Sound Design
    Phillip Perkins