30th Anniversary PAFF Virtual

John Singleton Short Film Competition: Amaru + Making of Doc ONLY (52m)

Expired May 27, 2022 6:59 AM
Already unlocked? for access

Inspired by the legacy of the late Los Angeles-born legendary African American filmmaker, John Singleton, the ‘John Singleton embRACE L.A. Short Film Competition‘ is the result of a partnership between the City of Los Angeles and the Pan African Film Festival under former L.A. City Council President Emeritus Herb Wesson’s embRACE L.A. initiative and is designed to honor Singleton’s cinematic legacy while simultaneously celebrating his unapologetic approach to filmmaking. Filmmakers were invited to submit their live-action short narrative scripts and three winners were awarded $20,000 each for the production and completion of a live-action narrative short film. 

Executive Producer: Sherri G. Sneed

John Singleton Short Film Competition: Amaru + Making of Doc ONLY (52m) contains the following films:

1) The Making of Documentary (24m)

2) Amaru (28m)

*Note this block does not include - Contraban (30m) or The Lifted (20m)

For more details scroll thru the package menu on the Right, or visit the Film Guide.

An average teenager discovers he has superpowers after he stops two police officers from brutalizing an unarmed Black man. Soon a series of events reveal the full strength of his powers, as he goes on a journey that improves the lives of his entire community. A coming-of-age story about an African-American teenager from South Los Angeles.

  • Year
  • Runtime
    28 minutes
  • Language
  • Country
    United States
  • Premiere
    Los Angeles
  • Director
    Brandon Hammond, Jenesis Scott
  • Screenwriter
    Jenesis Scott, Brandon Hammond
  • Producer
    Jenesis Scott, Brandon Hammond, W.B. Alexander, Brandi Webb, Victorious DeCosta, Yutopia Essex, Victoria Beeks
  • Executive Producer
    James A. Samuel Jr., Wendell Pierce, Duke Ketcham, Sherri G. Sneed
  • Co-Producer
    Terron Jones, Norman D. Golden II, JoJo McCoy
  • Cast
    Camron Jones, Asia'h Epperson, Ben Hirschhorn, Tasia Sherel, Roderick Davis, Glenn Plummer
  • Cinematographer
    William d'Anthony
  • Editor
    Matt Marshall
  • Production Design
    Cristian Quintanilla
  • Composer
    Kerry "Krucial" Brothers